It’s all about the little things

I’ve been in Paris for 10 days — something I can barely believe! In some ways it feels like I just got here yesterday, yet in others it seems like I’ve been here for so long.

I am having the time of my life so far. As I’ve said before, I’ve had the incredible opportunity to see and do so much on my trip already. But as much as I was in awe looking at L’Arc de Triomphe at night and seeing Napoleon’s tomb, I think it’s the little things I love most about Paris.

Enjoying the best ice cream in Paris -- so everyone says -- with friends along a canal behind Notre Dame

For example, no matter where I am in the city I can find a boulangerie or another snack-procuring store within minutes (unless it’s Sunday, when most places are inconveniently closed). I’m assuming everyone who reads this knows how I feel about snacks and food in general. The pain au chocolat and even just plain old croissants are all incredibly delicious here, and I might actually cry when I have to leave them and go back to American food — no offense, ‘Merica.

Next, although Paris is a heavily populated, crowded city, I find myself stumbling upon quaint little parks on a daily basis. My body is constantly sore here due to the intense amount of standing and walking I do; when a friend and I came across a little park yesterday after a long day of shopping and museum-going we were ecstatic. And we sat, talked, ate and watched adorable Parisian families (out and about celebrating Pentecost, which is a national holiday here) interact for hours.

Parc des Buttes Chaumont

And one of the best parts, in my opinion, is that I can always find something to do. Even if that means just walking around and taking in everything around me, the city is so gorgeous and rich with history that I could wander aimlessly all day and never get bored. Sore, maybe. But not bored.

So until next time, laissez les bons temps rouler!

  1. Becky, you’ve discovered (as do many people) my favorite thing about Paris. I love sitting in cafes with a cafe or a glass of wine or beer and just people watch. Sounds like a lovely time!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

